top of page

Toner?! Why Bother?

(psst, it's not just for your face)

I admit that I am not the most fastidious when it comes to skincare. My mother is religious about cleaning her face from Noxema days to today's more advance skincare, she almost never misses a day. BTW I was able to convert her to Youth!! Just sayin'! Andddd She is still much more faithful to care for her skin than I am. Did you know that if you don't clean your face it inhibits cell regeneration?? - That's another post though. Ewwww.


I'm getting better about caring for my skin, mostly because I don't want to look 100 when I'm 60 and my mother look younger! #vanity


I am more likely to wash my face every night now, but what about toner? I've always wondered what the point is.


Some say that you don't need toner if you have a good cleanser, but Nay, Nay!!! Toner has. a job! Several actually, and it isn't just for your face.


What does Toner do? In part, it depends on what's in your toner, but a good toner will:


  • Exfoliate- removing dull, dry skin cells

  • Free your skin from environmental pollutants

  • Brighten skin

  • Temporarily tighten skin

  • Minimizes appearance of pores

  • Make skin more radiant

  • Has anti-aging impact

  • Removes any residue from cleaning

  • Combats the chemicals in the water from washing your face

  • Can nourish your skin

  • Can hydrate your skin

By using Toner you surprise your skin with amazing hydration, remove dead skin cells, and prep your skin while providing the benefits listed above.


Wait!! Did you say toner isn't just for the face??? Yep, I did.


Armpits

Use toner on your armpits! Whaaattt?? No, it's true. Studies show it can help you be less stinky! It makes sense, you don't want dead skin cells and gunk clogging things up there adding to the funk. Toner under your arms can help kill the bacteria that lives there, which is the actual culprit for BO If you wear natural deodorant this is especially important to add this step to your routine.


A note about natural deodorant: It takes about 2 weeks for your body to adjust and you may have some serious BO during the transition period. Using toner can greatly help this and using a mask. Yeah, it sounds weird, but it's better than funk.


Feet and Elbows


Use toner on your feet and elbows!! These are areas that are always in serious need of exfoliation, for most us at least. Using a toner after showering and then a good moisturizer on your feet and elbows can help them be more smooth over time. I mean...sandal weather is coming y'all!!


OK Raise your hand and repeat with me "I will wash and tone my face every day"! We've got this!!


 

Personally I use Shaklee's Youth Anti-aging collection. I have pretty good skin, even with it being neglected, but once I started using Youth people kept commenting how "good" I looked, or "Bright", or "Young" and it felt nice, while also making me question my past experience. : D



The key to beautiful, younger-looking skin is to accelerate skin cell renewal to a more youthful rate. With eight patents and patents pending, each YOUTH product is specifically formulated to address the multiple effects of aging.







In addition to being vegan, cruelty free, and gluten free, this regimen is:

  • Ophthalmologist tested

  • Dermatologist tested

  • Non-comedogenic

Comments


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page