top of page

What’s for Dinner? Fajitas, Omelets, and BBQ Beans & Sausage

This Week’s meals are simple meals, but I found them to be hearty and cozy meals.  A perfect start to fall!  I hope you enjoy them.

Meatless Monday – Omelets


We really love omelets and are fortunate enough to get fresh eggs from time to time.  Now, I understand that for some of you eggs is stretching Meatless Monday, but for us it is a good way to add things other beef or chicken into our diets.

My husband and I like to put very different things in our omelets so this week I made my own and he made his own and everyone was happy.

I like to make mine in the classic French style then add my ingredients and fold it over.  Check out this video of Jacques Pepin talking about Omelets and showing you both the classis French style and country style and you can decide which you prefer.

Try adding things like grilled onions, sauteed mushrooms, peppers, jalepeno, cheese, broccoli…. The options are endless!

This is a quick and easy dinner ready in less than 30 minutes.


915fajita

Time: 45 Minutes (Marinade 4-12 hours)

Ease: Simple

Review:  The marinade for this is from http://www.seriouseats.com/, but I used chicken with.  I chopped the chicken into bite sized pieces and cooked the chicken and vegetables on a pan on the grill until done.  I think it is my favorite flavor for fajitas so far!

PS: I know fajitas are chees-less, but yum!


915 bbq beans with kale

Time: 30 Minutes

Ease: Simple

Review:  This recipe is a little unusual, but worth giving it a try.  Many of the reviewers from Eating Well said that they substituted spinach for the collard greens.  While I don’t like cooked collard greens I decided to give it a try and it was actually pretty good.  My husband agreed saying that he doesn’t usually like collards, but this was good.  So, there you have it!  I think you will find this dish to be tasty, simple, and cozy.

Comments


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page