top of page

Apple Know’s I’m 5 and I’m OK with it.

I recently got an Apple Watch and I love it! I am making more consistent strides towards my health, wellbeing, and well…my weight, which has crept up over the years and every little thing helps. Turning 50 seemed like good motivation to up my game so, Happy Birthday to me, I got my watch! I use a variety of tools to help me reach my goals and the Apple Watch is quickly becoming one of the most important tools.

First let me start by saying that it’s a great tool, for many reasons, but also because Apple understands that basically, I’m 5 years old. I respond very well to gold stars and stickers and so do you. Apple knows this. Every time I close a ring it makes me happy, like “OOOooooOOOO I just closed a ring” happy (clap, clap, clap)!!

THEN I learned that I can link up with my friends and when they complete their workout, close their rings, or reach a goal I get notified. They, in turn are notified when I do the same. This gives us the opportunity to send each other even more positive reinforcement through emojis and words of encouragement. OOOoooOOO….more clapping!!!!!

(Note about the rings: The red Move ring shows how many active calories you’ve burned. The green Exercise ring shows how many minutes of brisk activity you’ve done. The blue Stand ring shows how many times in the day you’ve stood and moved for at least one minute per hour. – from Apple Support )

When I get a notification that a friend has accomplished the goal for the day I send things like a high five, 100%, Way to go!! and sometimes it feels silly to keep doing it, but when I receive it feels good! We all appreciate validation and encouragement and it’s nice to know we are not alone, so I keep sending them. Having a buddy helps us keep going, adds a little accountability, and can make reaching our goals more fun. – Pick a buddy you trust with your feelings!

I have closed all of my rings for 30 days in a row and it feels good!!! I know that there will be days when it just isn’t going to happen. That’s OK! Part of being healthy is being balanced and recognizing that we can’t be perfect, that we need to listen to our bodies, and sometimes we need to rest. That’s OK. Really!!! It’s OK. Just get back to it when you’ve rested.

Secondly, the important thing to remember is that wellness is a journey that takes a lifetime. We make health our habit and we live in ways that will help our healthspan match our lifespan, including healthy eating, healthy moving, and healthy living.

We have to forgive ourselves when things don’t go as planned, try again tomorrow, and just keep going. Don’t do it alone, use whatever tools that work for you, listen to your body, and believe in you. I do!

OOOoooOOOO – I closed a ring 👏👏👏 💯

Tools I like to use:

Cronometer is a nutrition and calorie counting app. While Myfitnesspal is a great tool and, admittedly has the better database, Cronometer helps put the focus on wellness and nutritional value and not just counting calories. It’s my favorite app of this kind because of that. The paid version also offers a lot of features, including allowing coaches and clients to connect.

Healthprint by Shaklee:

Being upfront – I’m an Independent Shaklee Distributor, but I am because I really love the products and values, they align with my environmental and health values.

Your health goals are unique to you, which is why you need a plan designed specifically fo you to achieve optimal health. Shaklee Healthprint™ is a powerful tool that harnesses the work of award-winning Shaklee doctors, scientists, and nutritionists to create nutrition plans customized for you. Answer a few questions and we’ll recommend a combination of products that are personalized for your individual needs. We’ll also provide you with health insights and recommendations to help point you down the path to a healthier life.

Brief Action Plan:

The Brief Action Plan or BAP, is a tool from the Center for Collaboration Motivation and Innovation. The overall goal of BAP is to assist an individual to create an action plan for a self-management behavior that they feel confident that they can achieve. As a health coach I use this tool all the time. As an individual I find it to be a tool that keeps me on track and gives me a way to see how I’m doing.

I also use Strava, exercise videos, and just purchased a really nice scale with body metrics to help me track my progress.

I am an Independent Shaklee Distributor and Certified Health Coach. I received my Health Coach Certification from the Dr. Sears Wellness Institute, founded by world-renowned physician and author, Dr. William Sears. The Institute is a leader in science-based health and wellness education that focuses on the four pillars of health; Lifestyle, Exercise, Attitude and Nutrition (L.E.A.N.). A certification by the Dr. Sears Wellness Institute is obtained only after completing the extensive course work and meeting all requirements. Once certified, a Health Coach possesses the knowledge, tools and resources to make a positive difference in the health of others.

Comentarios


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page