top of page

Harmony – #wordoftheyear

By: Lisa Wright Burbach

Harmony: According the American Heritage Dictionary, Harmony is: An orderly or pleasing combination of elements in a whole: color harmony; the order and harmony of the universe. A relationship in which various components exist together without destroying one another: different kinds of fish living in harmony. A relationship characterized by a lack of conflict or by agreement, as of opinion or interest: family harmony.

Another word heard used to define harmony is tranquility.

Every year I choose a word of the year, something that I will work towards, something that I want to grow and nurture in myself. This year I chose the word Harmony. I have always thought of this as a personal word, one for my own benefit during the year, but then I heard a friend talk of her word of the year and how she works to make that word effective/impactful to all she comes in contact with. She asks herself “Does my decision right now live up to my word of the year for all involved?”. I thought this was brilliant and much more loving than using it just for personal growth. I love her humility and wisdom in this choice.

Here is my intention for my word this year:

Will this action/decision/word create Harmony in me? It will mean that I won’t put myself down, allow negative self-talk, or argue with myself unproductively. I will believe in myself and look for tranquility to be the outcome of my choices.

Will this action/decision/word create Harmony with my Husband? This is actually the easiest one, we rarely argue or even disagree, but there is always room for improvement. It will mean that I will listen more deeply, I will hear his heart and respond with empathy, compassion, and love to a deeper level. I will be his champion and create an atmosphere of harmony – “a pleasing combination of elements as a whole in our lives”.

Will this action/decision/word create Harmony with my family? I have grown children and I am a grown child; this greatly changes dynamics. It means that to my children I am simply an opinion, and to my parents they are simply opinions. I don’t mean it rudely, but I mean there is no expectation of “obedience”. We should respect their options and work towards harmony. It is possible to disagree and still maintain harmony. This is the “various components exist together without destroying one another.” I will allow them to be them and I will allow me to be me, with no strife, resentment, or discord. We will have healthy boundaries and mutual respect. Of course I can’t control the mutual part, but I can control my side and I will chose to respect and watch joyfully as each person thrives as themselves. I will also know when to let go.

Will this action/decision/word create Harmony with this I do business with: customers, clients, business partners etc.? I love working with my customers, helping them create healthier lives and find joy. I will listen without judging, I will create an atmosphere of motivational interviewing, where I ask questions, reframe, and help them see successes. I will support them in their decisions and be there for them. I may sell vitamins or skincare, or cleaning products etc., but I will do this while creating a safe, encouraging, motivating atmosphere being a mentor, coach, or friend not just a salesman. For me their hearts are my primary goal, the act of becoming a customer is just an open door for relationship.

Will this action/decision/word create Harmony with my friends and all those I come in contact with? I will ask myself this question, learn to pause more, and be OK with silence if I can’t 100% say I will help foster harmony.

Will this action/decision/word create Harmony with Nature: I will remember that the earth is our to share with each other and I will reduce and reuse before considering recycling, I will educate people to make wise choices and I will remember it is an act of stewardship. One who manages another’s property, finances, or other affairs. – American Heritage Dictionary. In this case the Earth. I will enjoy nature, be in awe of the things I see and I will stop to breathe it in and listen. I will walk and spend time outdoors, and I will learn from what nature tells me. I will be in awe of the one who created it all.

Don’t get me wrong, I understand that there are times when we disagree, when we will never see eye-to-eye on a topic, that’s part of life. Living in harmony says that I will rejoice for you and find peace with you even in those places. I am embracing that I don’t have to be right and I don’t even have to be understood, but I should seek harmony.

I have great expectations for peace, tranquility, and joy this year and repeatedly asking myself “Will this action/decision/word create Harmony in this situation!” I can help create a space where my expectations can be a reality. If the answer to my question is “no,” it will compel me to step back and find a better way, one that will create harmony, or whatever the current word of the year may be.

Quotes for this year:

Romans 12:8 NIV– If it is possible, as far as it depends on you, live at peace with everyone.

Marcus Aurelius -He who lives in harmony with himself lives in harmony with the universe.

Sallust – Harmony makes small things grow, lack of it makes great things decay.

Deepak Chopra – Give up being right. Instead radiate peace, harmony, love, and laughter from your heart.’

Forrest Shaklee – Think then, of the happiness you may produce for this moment, for what you think, you look; what you think, you do, what you think you are.

Comments


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page