top of page

Reviews: The Weenie Stand, Sushi, Springrolls & Praline French Toast


This is the Weenie Stand, in Lynchburg Va.  Yep, I said Weenie Stand.  It opened in 1970 and has been declared the “World’s Best Hotdog”, I’m not sure by whom.  But, in my opinion it is pretty darn close.  My mother and I have visited the Weenie Stand all my life and when I had kids we took them, somehow they were less impressed.  Ahh, Youth!  BUT, This week we took my husband for breakfast and they have a new fan!  The breakfast is great.  Good ole’ southern style biscuits, eggs, and hash browns. mmm, mmm. See:


That is hash browns, with mushrooms, onions & cheese with a sausage, egg, and cheese biscuit. My arteries are chugging, but surely just a few times a year is ok.

The holidays bring all sorts of changes, busyness and foods into our lives I hope you remember to enjoy each one from the things like the Weenie Stand to a full hot Christmas meal.  This week’s blog only features a few reviews because of our busyness, but we enjoyed every moment!

Have a Happy New Year!

This week’s Reviews:

The Process: For a full explanation visit this page

1. Sit down, relax and plan 4-5 meals (or pick some meals from here, that’s what this is here for.  I’ll pick so you don’t have to)

2. Make a grocery list and stick to it!!!! This saves time and money

3. Do the shopping-aim for one trip (My British friends will need to make several trips)

4. Bring Back Dinner and enjoy.  Remember that there is such an opportunity to build friendships and family when gathered around a meal.  Even if you mess it all up.  So, just relax, experiment, and have fun.  Don’t forget to include your friends.

The Meals:


sushi prep



spring rolls sushi

Time: 30 minutes

Ease: Simple.  Scary at first, but really easy once you get the hang of it.  First watch this video before making:

Review: I found this to be easy to follow and fun.  Remember to relax and be able to laugh.  It is easy enough, but can be messy at first so just laugh and enjoy.  Try this with a group.

Tips: Keep a bowl of water nearby to keep hands moist so that rice doesn’t stick to you hands.  For the Rice, follow the directions on the package and buy sushi rice.

spring roll

Time: Time varies depending on the number you make.  Allow a good 30 minutes to make a plate of spring rolls.

Ease: Simple-moderate.  It is easy once you learn to wrap, but in the meantime, once again remember to just relax and have fun.  You may need to tell your perfectionist side to “shut-up”, just for a little bit and then you can let it back out have perfect spring rolls. Here is a video to help: (see review before watching)

Review: This is a very good video, instruction wise, from Hilahcooking.com.  I feel Hilah is very informative, but may not be everyone’s style.  She is a little cheesy, but gets the job done and pretty well.  I recommend this video, but suggest an open mind.

P1100282

P1100291

Time: Prep: Refrigerate overnight & 30-45 minutes cooking time.

Ease: Simple

Review: This recipe is adapted from the “Let the Serving Begin” cookbook from Holy Trinity Lutheran Church, in Lynchburg VA.  If they still have copies available I recommend you snag one. Allow me to step into the shoes of Garrison Keillor, from Prairie Home Companion for just a bit as I sing the praises of the Lutherans. I believe I would convert to Lutheran solely for the food and wine.  These people know how to eat, cook, drink, and have fun and do it with decorum. This recipe is decadent, but with humility!

“The Meal


the meal

My family simply calls this “The Meal”.  For 50 years it hasn’t changed: Recipe– this recipe is pretty close.

Corn Pudding: This is a southern dish that I’m afraid is slowly disappearing.

Butter Beans with pot liqueur.  Which is to say, you cook it wit fatback or butter and lots of water until very soft, as they soften squish some against the pot.  What you have in the end is butter beans (lima beans) in a yummy sauce thickened from the squished beans.

Macaroni & Cheese – Our recipe has changed over the years, but there are so many great ones out there.  Try lots of them until you find the perfect one.

Ham

Candied Yams – In my family we don’t mash them, coat them marshmallows or nuts.  We use them right out of the can with lots of butter and sugar.

Potato Salad – Every family has a favorite, in my family we like the mustard based kind, unless we are talking about my dad’s side of the family and then we like the mayonnaise based kind- a la Hellman’s.

Rolls

Photos may be used, but please link back to this blog and credit Lisa Burbach, recipes are links to existing recipes and I have no ownership of recipes other than the ones I Have created.  Thank you.

Comentários


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page